anime · yaoi

Day three: Yaoi

Mmmm, the Yaoi genre. The heaven for fudanshi and fujoshi. I wanted to talk about the Yaoi genre and it’s sub-genres (I shall call it that for now) for a little bit. I feel that the line between Yaoi and shounen-ai isn’t clear. I wanted to clear up some confusion for people new to anime. “What’s the difference between yaoi and shounen-ai?”, “What’s uke and seme?”. I’m going to answer some of those questions.

 

The difference between yaoi and shounen-ai: Okee so most people know, but some people don’t so, yaoi focuses on the sexual relationship between two guys and shounen-ai is focuses on the romantic relationship between two guys.Soooo… Yaoi is like the older brother of shounen-ai.

Image result for  kageyama x hinata chibi

Uke and seme: Terms can also be used for yuri, but I haven’t heard many people use it that way. So, the seme is usually the person on the top and the uke is the person on the bottom. Most (not all) of the time, the uke is physically weaker than the seme.

Bara and shotacon: Now we’re gonna go to the big boys: shotacon and bara. I’m pretty sure most of you know what shotacon is (Boku no Pico) so I won’t go into too much detail, but shotacon is… Um, underage boys doing ‘it’. Bara is usually created by men, for other men to read. Bara usually has a lot of muscles in their art style.

So, that’s what I’ve got today and if anything is wrong, tell me! I’ve done a bit of research to try to explain it to people who are confused. Any questions, ask me and I will try my best to answer them! ^^

 

2 thoughts on “Day three: Yaoi

  1. Where were you a day ago with this info.lol My friend made me take a yaoi personality test. I had to look all this stuff up to understand what it all meant. haha I now know far too much that I ever wanted to know about this stuff O_O”

    Like

Leave a Reply

